• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Local players round out FBU team

DES MOINES– Local sixth, seventh and eighth graders are set to compete in Football University’s third annual national championship tournament in Des Moines.
Several local players have been selected to Team IOWA, and are set to host squads from Minnesota, Nebraska, and Saint Louis at Valley Stadium in Des Moines Dec. 14 and 15. The nationwide tournament features the country’s top sixth, seventh and eighth graders playing in three separate 64-team, single elimination brackets.
Teams advancing to the final 16 will travel to Wichita, Kan. for rounds three and four on Dec. 14 and 15. The final four will head to San Antonio’s Alamo dome from Dec. 31 through Jan. 6, 2014 to compete for a national championship.
The organization honors these players for their selections to the 35-man Team IOWA roster in their respective grade, and thanks them and their families for the hard work and commitment to the program. Team IOWA has 101 players, 31 volunteer coaches and staff, and a number of parent helpers that have been traveling, practicing and coordinating across the state since late October. Players were selected via three summer tryouts and statewide evaluations throughout the season.
Additional tournament information available at
http://www.footballuniversity.org, http://www.fbunc.com, and facebook.com/teamiowa7.

Eastern Iowa team roster:

Sixth grade
Jace Andregg– Fairfax
Alexander Glover– Cedar Rapids
Dylan Hullaby– Cedar Rapids
Malachai Jones– Cedar Rapids
Creighton Mitchell– Mount Pleasant
Cade Parker– Hiawatha
Skyler Paulsen– Solon
Devin Pingel– Cedar Rapids
Colten Staab– Swisher
Keegan Staab– Swisher
Josh Volk– Cedar Rapids

Seventh grade
Alex Boxwell– North Liberty

Eighth grade
Arthur Braden– Davenport
Blair Brooks– Cedar Rapids
Tanner Erickson– LeClaire
Isaiah Garman– Marion
Jayden Good– Cedar Rapids
Keegan Harris– Marion
Ethan Henrichs– Marion
Ryan Reighard– North Liberty
Boston Riley– Cedar Rapids
Cole White– Tiffin