• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Lady Spartan Holtkamp named to Print Sports Writers 3rd Team

DES MOINES– The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA), founded in February of 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports, announced its 2020 Girls Basketball All-State Teams on Tuesday, March 10.
Class 5A, West Des Moines Dowling Catholic senior Caitlin Clark was named IPSWA Miss Iowa Basketball 2020. The honor was conveyed after she averaged 33.7 points per game (scoring more than 2,500 points in her career) and shooting 50.9 percent from the field, while making 84 three-pointers.
In Class 3A, Solon sophomore Kaia Holtkamp was named an IPSWA Third Team selection, along with freshman Jenna Twedt from Benton, junior Janie Schoonhoven from Unity Christian, junior Haley Rasmussen from Atlantic, senior Sophie Walker from Red Oak, freshman Finley Hall from West Liberty, senior Magan Christopherson from Okoboji, and sophomore Jaydan Nitchals from Estherville Lincoln Central.
The Lady Spartans’ season ended at 9-13 following a postseason loss to the Vinton-Shellsburg Vikettes, 64-55, at Solon High School.
Holtkamp, 5-8, played in all 22 of Solon’s games this season, starting 21 of them, and ended the season hitting 36.2 percent of her field goals (97-268), 27 percent from three-point range (27-100) and drained 49 percent from the free throw line (25-51). She led the team in scoring with 11.2 points per game, while scoring 246 of the Lady Spartans’ season point total.
She was in second on the team in assists with 48 total and was in a three-way-tie for third on the team in steals with fellow sophomore teammates MaKinley Levin and Ava Stebral with 26 apiece. Holtkamp also blocked three shots and committed 73 turnovers during the 2019-2020 campaign.
She battled for 86 total rebounds, 34 offensive and 52 defensive, and averaged 3.9 per game, ending the season third behind teammates sophomore Elly Holubar with 195 (103-92), tying a school record with 21 in a single game, and senior Jenna LaDage with 95 (32-63).
During Holtkamp’s freshman season, she played in 20 of Solon’s 21 games, scoring a total of 136 points, averaging 6.8 points per game during the 2018-2019 campaign. She sank 32.7 percent of her field goals (49-150), 33.3 percent of her three-point shots (18-54) and sank 20-39 from the charity stripe, 51.3 percent, placing her third on the team for scoring behind Levin (204) and LaDage (154) respectively.
She was second on the team with 27 assists and fourth on the team with 26 steals while blocking four shots during her freshman foray. She committed 122 turnovers during her initial season and landed fourth overall on the team with a total of 66 rebounds, 15 offensive and 51 defensive, averaging 3.3 rebounds per game.
Head Coach Jamie Smith said Holtkamp had a big year all the way around.
“Kaia (showed) so much improvement from freshman to sophomore year,” he said.
Smith said her teammates should also feel good about the honor.
“You don’t get honors without teammates, and I know Kaia understands this,” he added.
Holtkamp took to Twitter on Feb. 18, following her selection to the Class 3A Southeast All-District Team, to comment, “I am so honored! Thanks to my teammates and coaches for a great season! #PTM”
“The future is bright for Kaia and our program because I know everyone within the program will keep working,” Coach Smith assessed. “Kaia will take this and run with it, I believe this.”
The IPSWA First Team selections, laden with upper classmen, were: senior Sharon Goodman from Crestwood, senior Kallyn Stumbo from Okoboji, senior Ella Skinner from Bishop Heelan, senior Sarah Faber from Clear Lake, senior Jaedon Murphy from North Polk, junior JaMae Nichols from Cherokee Washington, junior Kelsey Fields from Creston, and senior Katelyn Stanley from Heelan.
The IPSWA Second Team selections were: junior Maggie Phipps from North Polk, junior Moriah Prewitt from Des Moines Christian, senior Regan Freland from PCM, senior Ellie Foster from Dike-New Hartford, sophomore Brooklyn Meyer from West Lyon, senior Abbey Holmes from Algona, and sophomore Reagan Barkema from Roland-Story.

Sports Writers responsible for making the selections who attended the March 7 meeting were: Bobby Metcalf, Quad-City Times; Brennen Normand, Creston News Advertiser; Brian Rathjen, Atlantic News Telegraph; Chad Drury, Ottumwa Courier; Colin Peters, Centerville Daily Iowegian; Dale Wegner, Sac Sun; Greg Grabianowski, Algona Publishing; Jeff Linder, Cedar Rapids Gazette; Kristi Nixon, Hampton Chronicle; Kyle Ocker, Centerville Daily Iowegian; Matt Gengler, Missouri Valley Times News; Mike Oeffner, Harlan Newspapers; Noah Rohlfing, Marshalltown Times-Republican; Perry Bell, Knoxville Journal-Express; Richard Rindt, Oskaloosa Herald; Ross Eberhart, The Observer; Ross Thede, Marshalltown Times-Republican; Rusty Ebert, Van Buren County Register; Scott Spurgeon, Bloomfield Democrat; Troy Hyde, Newton Daily News; Tyler Hetu, Creston News Advertiser; and Zachary James, Sioux City Journal.
Coaches, offering insight for the selection process who attended the meeting along with Lady Spartan Head Coach Jamie Smith, included Anthony Pappas, Waterloo West; BJ Mayer, Iowa City West; Brian Wheatley, North Linn; Colin Woorst, North Scott; Darron Koolstra, Bishop-Heelan; Derek Sonderland, Longa-Magnolia; Don Logan, IBCA; Jarod Tyler, West Branch; Jesse Cox, Lenox; Jody Fink, Highland; Josh Claypool, Marion; Mark Wiley, Central Community School; Michael Ford, Algona; Nate Sanderson, Iowa Basketball Coaches Association; Paul Sonius, West Hancock; Scott Moenck, Maquoketa Valley; and Tom Lilla, Xavier.
Statistics for the article were provided courtesy of QuickStatsIowa.com and the Varsity Bound- Iowa High School Sports app.