• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Lady Spartan Callie Levin earns First-Team All-State Honor

WEST DES MOINES– Solon freshman Callie Levin made an impression on the hardwood in the WaMaC East Conference earlier this season, so much so it garnered her First-Team All-State Honors from the Iowa Girls Coaches Association on Monday, March 8, during recognition of worthy performances in Class 3A.
At 5-9, Levin spearheaded the Lady Spartans’ 2020-2021 campaign ending with a 17-6 record, after posting nine wins in the 2019-2020 season, and earning Solon a WaMaC East Conference title before exiting the postseason in a Class 3A regional final.
On Feb. 20, following the team’s exit, @SolonGBB tweeted, “Thanks to everyone who came out to watch us play! Unreal support this season. Tough loss to a very good team. From the Youth to the MS to the HS things are heading the in the right direction! #PTM” to which @CallieLevin23 promised via tweet, at 10:58 a.m. on Feb. 21, “We’ll be back…”
Levin averaged 19 points per game, seventh in the Class 3A, at point guard in her debut season, shooting a team-high 47 percent from the field. She averaged a team-high 3.7 assists and four steals per game. She averaged four rebounds per game and shot 72 percent from the free throw line, leading the Spartans with 106 attempts and 76 successes.
Class 3A Recognitions:
First Team– junior Ryley Goebel, Center Point-Urbana; freshman Callie Levin, Solon; senior Mya Merschman, Central Lee; junior Brooklyn Meyer, West Lyon; senior JaMae Nichols, Cherokee; senior Moria Prewitt, Des Moines Christian; senior Janie Schoonhoven, Unity Christian; and sophomore Gracie Schoonhoven, Unity Christian.
Second Team– junior Jaden Ainsley, Clear Lake; junior Reagan Barkema, Roland-Story; junior Payton Beckman, Panorama; senior Dani Johnson, Osage; senior Sydney Marlow, West Burlington; junior Jaydan Nitchels, Esterhville Lincoln Central; senior Haley Rasmussen, Atlantic; senior Maggie Wilkins, Knoxville.
Third Team – sophomore Finley Hall, West Liberty; senior Annika Headington, Waukee; senioe Raven Kinnetz, Clarion; sophomore Catherine Mayhall, Carroll Kuemper; junior Alexis Pingle, Cherokee; sophomore Katie Reyerson, West Marshall; sophomore Ava Schubert, Davenport Assumption; and senior Jenny Wibholm, Iowa Falls.
Coach of the Year– Ryan Brasser, West Lyon.