• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

The help wanted sign is still out

Supervisors make board and commission appointments, but vacancies remain

IOWA CITY The Johnson County Board of Supervisors made several appointments to county boards and commissions during its regular meeting Thursday, Dec. 10, but open seats still remain for volunteers looking to serve their community.
The Compensation Commission, which prepares a compensation (pay) schedule for elected county officers for the succeeding fiscal year, has three openings, which will be advertised for one month by the county. The supervisors appointed Dave Parsons to a one-year term, which starts on Jan. 1, 2021.
The Historic Preservation Commission conducts studies to identify and designate historic districts and sites, which meet eligibility for the National Register of Historical Places. Jennifer Price was re-appointed by the supervisors, who also appointed Ronald Bruce. Both will serve a three-year term starting Jan. 1, 2021. One vacancy remains, which the county will advertise for 30 days.
Two vacancies are still open on the Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission, which appoints judges. Dorothy Whiston was reappointed to a six-year term beginning on Jan. 1, 2021. The county will advertise for 30 days in an effort to fill the vacancies.
No applications were received for the SEATS Paratransit Advisory Board, which provides a forum for consumers and elected representatives to voice their concerns, ideas and proposed solutions for improvements to the SEATS Paratransit Service. The four open positions are for consumers of SEATS, and the county will advertise the openings for 30 days.
Victoria Steelman was the only applicant for an open seat on the Livable Community for Successful Aging Policy Board, and was appointed to a three-year term, which started immediately, and expires on June 30, 2022. The position requires the board member to live outside of an urbanized area.
The supervisors reappointed Tatiana Izakovic, MD, to the Johnson County Board of Health and appointed Joni Bosch, PhD, ARNP. Both will serve three-year terms starting on Jan. 1, 2021. Michael Donohue was reappointed to the Building Code Board of Appeals for a five-year term starting on Jan. 1, 2021, and Bonnie Winslow-Garvin was appointed to a five-year term on the Johnson County Conservation Board, which also starts on Jan. 1, 2021.
Mary Abboud was reappointed to the Juvenile Justice and Youth Development Policy Board, and Joella Gerber was appointed, with both representing social services agencies for terms beginning immediately, and expiring Sept. 30, 2024. Kate Connell and Matthew OBrien were appointed as persons characterized as, business, parents or youth for three-year terms starting immediately. In addition, Justin Montgomery was appointed as a representative of Juvenile Court. Montgomerys term started immediately and also expires on Sept. 30, 2024.
Mike Parker was reappointed to the Johnson County Planning and Zoning Commission for another five-year term staring on Jan. 1, 2021, while Bob Lancaster was reappointed to the Solon Public Library Board for a six-year term starting on Jan. 1, 2021, and Kathleen Sluka was reappointed to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for a five-year term starting on Jan. 1, 2021.
Full details on the boards and commissions, including eligibility requirements for the vacancies, can be found on the countys website, www.johnsoncountyiowa.gov.